What's on

Tanks Arts Centre has been awarded Cairns' best entertainment venue for the last seven years (and counting), cementing our position as the leading contemporary music venue in the region.  [More]


Pete Marshall, BVSc, SAA, AFC, AGRA - Birds of Cattana

Sun 19 Aug - Sun 30 Sep

Visual Arts Residency Program
[More info]

Energy 2018

Fri 31 Aug - Sun 30 Sep
Free

A presentation of visual art produced by school students across the region.
[More info]

A Most Unusual Heritage Treasure Exhibition

Tue 4 Sep - Mon 24 Sep
Free

This display tracks the Tanks Arts Centre growth and development from WWII utilitarian infrastructure to one of the most dynamic arts and cultural centres in Northern Aus...
[More info]

Lamine Sonko & The African Intelligence (West Africa)

Fri 21 Sep
$31.50 / $26.25 (CONC) inc b/fee

The band is fronted by the charismatic Lamine Sonko, one of Australia’s most accomplished African artists
[More info]

Recycled Bird Sculpture Workshop with Kylie Burke

Sat 22 Sep
Adult $15 / Student & Concession $10

Be guided to utilise salvaged timber and found natural materials to create recycled bird sculptures.
[More info]

Sheppard - Watching The Sky Tour

Sun 23 Sep
$45 / $40 (CONC) inc b/fee

Sheppard wield pop music like a weapon, and it hits like a smart bomb.
[More info]

Tree Kangaroo Paintings and Shorebird Sculptures

Tue 25 Sep - Sun 14 Oct
Free

This exhibition features a visual story book authored by Margaret Worthington; Dobby, Young Tree Kangaroo, developed from the featured watercolour paintings and contempor...
[More info]

Tanks' Monthly Markets

Sun 30 Sep
Free

A must-do event on the Cairns calendar.
[More info]

Art workshops with Residential Artist Pete Marshall

Sun 30 Sep

Art Workshops with Pete Marshall.
[More info]

Tropical Gaze 2018 - Cairns Tropical Pride

Wed 10 Oct - Sun 04 Nov
Free

If a picture is worth a thousand words, this rich and diverse collection, promises a lot of conversation.
[More info]

A Story of Vanilla with Russell and Mary Spanton

Wed 10 Oct
$5 members / $10 non-members (includes a light refreshment)

Russell and Mary Spanton will share what is involved in production of their vanilla essence and vanilla beans.
[More info]

Understory Film Festival - Locally Produced Short Films

Sat 13 Oct

A screening and awards night for FNQ short films by student, emerging and professional filmmakers including comedies, docos, music videos and more.
[More info]

Cairns Tropical Pride Fair Day

Sun 14 Oct

A fun rainbow family day celebrating diversity and community harmony, featuring an exciting line-up of entertainers – the glamorous, the high camp and the shady!
[More info]

Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition

Mon 15 Oct - Thu 25 Oct
Free

It is a project that aims to reflect emerging and inspiring contemporary media arts made possible through emergent technology and convergence in creative arts practice.
[More info]

Twelfth Night

Fri 19 Oct - Sat 27 Oct
$28.85 / $23.60 (Conc) / Matinee & School Group $15.75 (inc b/fee)

A zany parable of how pranks, pretences and pursuit can be taken overboard!
[More info]

Tommy Little & Luke McGregor - LIVE

Fri 19 Oct - Sat 20 Oct
All tickets $47 including booking fee

Two of the biggest names in Australian Comedy – Tommy Little and Luke McGregor are bringing their bromance to Cairns this October.
[More info]

Cairns Chocolate School Workshop

Sat 20 Oct
$55 per person

Cairns Chocolate School teaches students how to make chocolate simply and easily from scratch using Australian cocoa and equipment found in most home kitchens.
[More info]

PechaKucha Night - Volume 25

Wed 24 Oct
$5 tickets sold on the door (CASH ONLY) + gold coin donation to PechaKucha

Join us for PechaKucha, as a presenter or guest, for an entertaining evening covering a range of topics – 20 images x 20 seconds.
[More info]

Sydney Comedy Festival Showcase

Fri 26 Oct
All tickets - $37.80 inc b/fee

The Festival's funniest in one hilarious night!
[More info]

A Living Art - Cairns Bonsai Society

Sat 27 Oct - Sun 28 Oct
Free

The Cairns Bonsai Society 25th annual exhibition 2018, is a free community event welcoming all to experience the wonder and awe of this ancient living art – Bonsai.
[More info]

Tanks' Monthly Markets

Sun 28 Oct
Free

Tanks Monthly Markets are a unique slice of cultural life in the tropics and a must-do event on the Cairns calendar.
[More info]

Soul Song: Rockstar 2018

Sat 3 Nov
Adult $29.40 Conc $21 Children (5yrs - 18yrs) $10.50 Under 5yrs Free

It’s choir – but not as you know it!
[More info]

Masque Expressif - Workshop for Actors

Sat 17 Nov - Sun 18 Nov
$230 (Early Bird - before 26/10/18) and $270 (after Early Bird)

In these workshops the mask is used as a powerful tool for the actor.
[More info]

The Superjesus - 20 Years of Sumo

Sat 17 Nov
$42 / $36.75 (CONC) inc b/fee

20 years of Sumo
[More info]

Tanks Unplugged November 2018

Fri 23 Nov
$12.60 / $10.50 (CONC) inc b/fee

A Tanks’ series that showcases the best of live and local music.
[More info]

British India - Nic The Poet Tour

Sat 24 Nov
$36.75 / $31.50 (CONC) inc b/fee

Guitarist and founding member of British India Nic Wilson has announced he will retire from music at the end of this year.
[More info]

The Rubens - Lo La Ru Album Tour

Thu 13 Dec - Fri 14 Dec
All tickets $48 inc b/fee

The Rubens Lo La Ru Album Tour
[More info]

Keb' Mo'

Sat 13 Apr
$57 / $52 (CONC) inc b/fee

A modern master of American roots music.
[More info]