Previous Exhibitions


Pride in Authority - An Exhibition of Cultural Longevity

Fri 29 Jun 2018 - Tue 24 Jul 2018
Free

A major highlight of CIAF’s program of satellite exhibitions stemming from a collaboration between CIAF and three remote Aboriginal communities: Aurukun, Pormpuraaw and B...
[More info]

Donna Davis - Unseen

Fri 1 Jun 2018 - Thu 14 Jun 2018

Donna Davis navigates the intersection between art and science to develop works that capture and create sites of ecological observation.
[More info]

Angela Meyer - Grammars of Ornament: Windows in Time

Fri 1 Jun 2018 - Thu 14 Jun 2018
Free

In this body of work Angela Meyer is interested in identity politics, disparity and unity in historical narratives and the tropical world as a place of abundant nature an...
[More info]

N.Q. Weaving 2018

Fri 1 Jun 2018 - Thu 14 Jun 2018
Free

During the exhibition and workshops the regions weavers and natural fibre crafters will showcase collaborative and interactive pieces with an emphasis on ecological and c...
[More info]

Hayley McCann - Still Process

Fri 1 Jun 2018 - Thu 14 Jun 2018
Free

‘Still Process’ is Hayley McCann’s first solo exhibition, a collection of original works using black ink and coloured pencil on paper, inspired by botanicals observed in ...
[More info]

Artists of the North - Cairns Art Society

Fri 27 Apr 2018 - Sun 13 May 2018
Free

Annually the Cairns Art Society gathers together its members and other artists from Far North Queensland and presents the best of their art in one of the largest group ex...
[More info]

Mixed Blood - Contemporary Indigenous Cultural Expression

Fri 30 Mar 2018 - Sun 15 Apr 2018
Free

“Mixed Blood symbolises how the Indigenous people of Cairns today have such a dynamic, rich and varied Indigenous heritage.
[More info]

FLAME 2018

Fri 2 Mar 2018 - Tue 20 Mar 2018
Free

An exhibition, offering young women experience in the arts.
[More info]

Marushka Kafka - So Much as a Backwards Glance

Fri 9 Feb 2018 - Tue 20 Mar 2018
Free

Marushka Kafka's solo exhibition - Winner of the Tanks Curator’s Award at the ENERGY 2017 exhibition.
[More info]

Jewish Life in Germany Today

Fri 9 Feb 2018 - Sun 25 Feb 2018
Free

This exhibition combines the historical and contemporary aspects of living as a member of the Jewish community in Germany.
[More info]

Brian Cassey - A Photographer's Life - Part One

Fri 8 Dec 2017 - Tue 30 Jan 2018
Free

This exhibition bears witness to a life spent working in the photographic industry.
[More info]

Sarah Jane Botham - Travelling Light

Fri 8 Dec 2017 - Tue 30 Jan 2018
Free

In Travelling Light, SJ Botham explores some of the world’s most iconic travel destinations using sculpture and hand-cut paper works as light stencils to create light dra...
[More info]

John Eaton - Locus Pocus

Fri 8 Dec 2017 - Tue 30 Jan 2018
Free

With a fascination for historical drawing techniques, Eaton took a particular interest in Alexander Cozen’s A New Method of Assisting the Invention in Drawing Original Co...
[More info]

Francoise Lane and Christy Van Der Heyden - Fusing Sands

Fri 24 Nov 2017 - Sun 14 Jan 2018
Free

Desert meets Island to explore diversity through design.
[More info]

Big Design

Fri 10 Nov 2017 - Sun 03 Dec 2017
Free

Big Design provides a pathway for young people to imagine and create public artworks in celebration of the Commonwealth Games 2018.
[More info]

The Power of Pallets Exhibition and Fundraiser

Fri 3 Nov 2017 - Sun 19 Nov 2017

An exhibition of art and furniture, made entirely of up-cycled timber pallets, donated for auction by local individuals, groups, tradesmen, businesses and schools.
[More info]

Hannah Parker and Claire Freer - After Hinchinbrook: A Year in the Making

Fri 3 Nov 2017 - Sun 03 Dec 2017
Exhibition FREE

In October last year, Claire Freer and Hannah Parker walked for 6 days on Hinchinbrook Island. Hannah took a purse size palette of watercolours and postcard size paper. ...
[More info]

Karen Argus - When will the rain come?

Fri 3 Nov 2017 - Sun 03 Dec 2017
Free

This exhibition has been created in a picture book style and asks us to question our thoughts and ideas about toads.
[More info]

Elizabeth Hunter - Momento Mori: Art, Death and the Afterlife

Fri 27 Oct 2017 - Sun 12 Nov 2017
Free

Local printmaker and installation artist Elizabeth Hunter has been working for the last four years, making pieces for a special celebration of The Day of The Dead.
[More info]

Tropical Gaze 2017 Art Exhibition

Fri 6 Oct 2017 - Sun 29 Oct 2017
Free

Stimulate your senses with Tropical North Queensland's most exhilarating art.
[More info]

Hike 'N' Bike - Wet Tropics Wild Exposure Exhibition

Tue 29 Aug 2017
Free

Be immersed in ancient rainforests and discover the beauty of the region.
[More info]

Regular Rick, Centacare & Cairns Community - #wearecairns

Fri 4 Aug 2017 - Tue 22 Aug 2017
Free

A celebration of the people of Cairns with a focus on the unique level of diversity within our region.
[More info]

Family Values - CIAF Satellite Exhibition

Mon 3 Jul 2017 - Wed 19 Jul 2017

Family Values is an honest and authentic portrayal of contemporary family life, relating to the 2017 Curated Art Fair theme of FAMILY VALUES.
[More info]

Jane Dennis - Sushi Train

Fri 2 Jun 2017 - Sun 25 Jun 2017

For her first major solo exhibition at the Tanks, Jane Dennis brings a sumptuous offering of raw fish prints.
[More info]

Ian Smith & Glen O'Malley - Three Foot Six, the Sunlander

Fri 2 Jun 2017 - Sun 25 Jun 2017

This exhibition records Queensland rail heritage and captures the high and low energy and excitement associated with trains and rail travel.
[More info]

Cultural Collective: Looking Forward, Looking Back - Selected works from the Kenny Bedford Collection, curated by Brian Robinson

Wed 31 May 2017 - Wed 19 Jul 2017
Free

For 25 years, Torres Strait Islander, Kenny Bedford has been collecting the art of his people.
[More info]

Priscilla Ong - City Faces of 100 years

Fri 28 Apr 2017 - Sun 28 May 2017

Priscilla presents a portrait of a city as diverse as it gets.
[More info]

Artists of the North 2017 - Cairns Art Society

Fri 7 Apr 2017 - Sun 23 Apr 2017

The theme for the 12th Artists of the North exhibition, “Hot, wet and steamy in the tropics”
[More info]

Flame

Fri 10 Mar 2017 - Tue 28 Mar 2017

An Exhibition, offering young women experience in the arts
[More info]

Elizabeth Sutton - Seventeen Years at Home

Fri 17 Feb 2017 - Tue 28 Mar 2017

Elizabeth Sutton Exhibition
[More info]

Doc's Day Off

Fri 3 Feb 2017 - Sat 04 Mar 2017

Doc's Day Off Exhibition
[More info]

Mimi Tannaka - Unplugged Photographs

Fri 3 Feb 2017 - Sat 04 Mar 2017

Mimi Tannaka - Unplugged Photographs Exhibition
[More info]