Visual Arts & Residencies

Tanks Arts Centre hosts a variety of local and touring exhibitions, artists´ residencies and studio activity. Tanks main exhibition space, Tank 4, is unlike a conventional, white-wall gallery and offers a unique environment in which to create and present work.

Standard opening times are 9am – 4:30pm weekdays and 10am – 2:30pm weekends and public holidays. Gallery is closed during exhibition turnovers. Please check program for exhibition dates.


Inkmasters Print Exhibition 2018 by Inkmasters Cairns

Fri 27 Jul - Sun 19 Aug
Free

The fourth biennial InkFest print exhibition features print-based works by regional, national and international artists.
[More info]

Unfurl Exhibition - Jessie Rose Ford

Tue 31 Jul - Mon 03 Sep
Free

A body of work encompassing Jessie’s plant explorations during her two week artist residency at the Cairns Botanic Gardens.
[More info]

Ever Widening Circles

Wed 1 Aug - Thu 30 Aug
Free

A reference to the expanding use of materials and techniques as well as friendships forged along the way.
[More info]

Pete Marshall, BVSc, SAA, AFC, AGRA - Birds of Cattana

Sun 19 Aug - Sun 30 Sep

Pete Marshall, an internationally recognised artist specialising in wildlife subjects, is currently undertaking a residency with Tanks Arts Centre, documenting the bird l...
[More info]

Energy 2018

Fri 31 Aug - Sun 30 Sep
Free

A presentation of visual art produced by school students across the region.
[More info]

A Most Unusual Heritage Treasure Exhibition

Tue 4 Sep - Mon 24 Sep
Free

This display tracks the Tanks Arts Centre growth and development from WWII utilitarian infrastructure to one of the most dynamic arts and cultural centres in Northern Aus...
[More info]

Tree Kangaroo Paintings and Shorebird Sculptures

Tue 25 Sep - Sun 14 Oct
Free

This exhibition features a visual story book authored by Margaret Worthington; Dobby, Young Tree Kangaroo, developed from the featured watercolour paintings and contempor...
[More info]