Visual Arts & Residencies

Tanks Arts Centre hosts a variety of local and touring exhibitions, artists´ residencies and studio activity. Tanks main exhibition space, Tank 4, is unlike a conventional, white-wall gallery and offers a unique environment in which to create and present work.

Standard opening times are 9am – 4:30pm weekdays and 10am – 2:30pm weekends and public holidays. Gallery is closed during exhibition turnovers. Please check program for exhibition dates.


Pete Marshall, BVSc, SAA, AFC, AGRA - Birds of Cattana

Sun 19 Aug - Sun 30 Sep

Visual Arts Residency Program
[More info]

Energy 2018

Fri 31 Aug - Sun 30 Sep
Free

A presentation of visual art produced by school students across the region.
[More info]

Tree Kangaroo Paintings and Shorebird Sculptures

Tue 25 Sep - Sun 14 Oct
Free

This exhibition features a visual story book authored by Margaret Worthington; Dobby, Young Tree Kangaroo, developed from the featured watercolour paintings and contempor...
[More info]

Tropical Gaze 2018 - Cairns Tropical Pride

Wed 10 Oct - Sun 04 Nov
Free

If a picture is worth a thousand words, this rich and diverse collection, promises a lot of conversation.
[More info]

Order & Chaos - JCU Creative Arts Exhibition

Mon 15 Oct - Thu 25 Oct
Free

It is a project that aims to reflect emerging and inspiring contemporary media arts made possible through emergent technology and convergence in creative arts practice.
[More info]

A Living Art - Cairns Bonsai Society

Sat 27 Oct - Sun 28 Oct
Free

The Cairns Bonsai Society 25th annual exhibition 2018, is a free community event welcoming all to experience the wonder and awe of this ancient living art – Bonsai.
[More info]

Weave N Art Exhibition

Tue 30 Oct - Sun 02 Dec
Free

This gorgeous display explores the various adaptions of the palm leaf through weaving as well as the significance of this practice.
[More info]

Digital Conversation - FNQ Photographers Club Exhibition

Wed 31 Oct - Sun 02 Dec
Free

Digital Conservation embraces past, present and future, reminding us of what has preceded, what is happening now and what lay ahead.
[More info]

Youth Urban Art Project - Display

Thu 1 Nov - Fri 30 Nov
Free

View the artistic journey of local artist Daniel ‘Wally’ Wallwork as he mentored local youth to design and beautify their local public spaces through mural works.
[More info]

Anna & Declan Delargy - From The Sky ... Wings Over Abstract Colour Fields

Fri 9 Nov - Sun 09 Dec
Free

For the first time, two of our much loved local artists, mother and son, Anna and Declan Delargy, show their work together in a duo exhibition.
[More info]

Linda Ash - The World is Turning

Fri 9 Nov - Sun 09 Dec
Free

The World is Turning asks the viewer to reflect on our responsibility to the planet and to consider a spiritual, emotional and physical connection to nature.
[More info]

Song and Dance Photographic Exhibition

Fri 9 Nov - Sun 09 Dec
Free

This exhibition is a Sister Cities collaboration between Cairns and Riga, Latvia, to commemorate the one hundredth anniversary of Latvia’s independence.
[More info]